Confessions Of A Fat Girl… Or Two

Pseudoephedrine As An Appetite Suppressant

Posted on: October 30, 2008

This thing is called “Confessions” so I’m going to actually confess something today.

I use pseudoephedrine recreationally.

I do not abuse it.  I take two 24-hour time release capsules of Claritin-D per day.  This is not the crap you can buy easily, but the stuff you have to sign at the pharmacy counter and show identification to purchase.  I think it’s bullshit that I have to do this, and probably I’m on a list somewhere of potential meth-lab people.

I do not own a meth lab.  I don’t even particularly like meth.  I do like pharmaceutical speed but I don’t have access to it.  I feel as though, in trying to lose 200+ pounds, I should be able to use any and all existing tools.  This is a fucking hellacious undertaking, and losing weight is quite unlike kicking any other addiction — because you can’t just “quit.”  You have to completely recreate your relationship with food, which is easier said than fucking done.

I like food.  I like it the way a junkie likes heroin.  I like to eat food, I like to cook food, I like to buy food.  I watch the Food Network on television and read cookbooks and cooking magazines.  I live for the holiday season, which largely revolves around food.

When I take pseudoephedrine, I don’t think about food. 

It’s a precursor ingredient for meth, and I am able to identify the amphetamine-like qualities it has.  For instance, a marked disinterest in food is one such quality.  Others include a generally spaced-out feeling, irritability, a tendency to dwell or obsess about things, anxiety, and excessive wakefulness.  I’m not getting much speedy “energy” from it, but as an appetite suppressant, I really can’t think of anything legal that one can get with or without a prescription that is more effective.  It’s certainly better than Meridia, which is a prescription weight-loss drug.  At this dose, it is better than standard doses of phentermine.  And certainly it’s better than Alli, which just turns your guts to goo.

Your standard prescription amphetamines (Adderall, Dexedrine, Desoxyn, Ritalin) are better-suited to weight loss, but much more expensive and difficult to get.  They are Schedule II medications, meaning that they are highly-controlled “triplicate” prescriptions that are tracked carefully by the state and the DEA.  Furthermore, their FDA approval is for treatment of ADHD and narcolepsy.  Some physicians will prescribe amphetamines for weight loss, but it’s a rare and “off label” treatment.  To say Claritin is more readily available would be an understatement of massive proportions.

I am not exactly “myself” on this dose of pseudoephedrine, and I have yet to determine whether that’s a good thing or a bad thing.  After all, it was my “self” that allowed me to get fat.  It’s my “self” that considers good food more important than good health or good looks.  Maybe my “self” could stand to be altered a bit.

2 Responses to "Pseudoephedrine As An Appetite Suppressant"

[...] Original post by Confessions Of A Fat Girl… Or Two [...]

I really like your post. I feel the same way you do about food. I cannot seem to control myself around it. Sometimes, at night, I will wake up at 4AM and basically try to down as much food as I possibly can – chocolate, tortilla chips, salsa, pretzels, soy milk, ham, anything – so I can feel “right.”

Your post is dead on. I have read several articles on the internet that says that pseudoephedrine does not have any long term weight-loss effects, but I just started taking it, and it is so bizarre. For instance, I can feel myself being hungry, but I am not compelled to eat. The hunger doesn’t bother me at all. I tried to eat some cereal this morning and I took one bite, and I had to spit it out.

This is an incredible, overnight fix, so far. I am sure I will build up a tolerance, but I am just amazed at this drug.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

